Satchmo’s Winebar Bistro

335 Chapel Rd South

Bankstown, NSW

Satchmo’s Winebar Bistro, Bankstown. NSW



Satchmo’s was a popular Winebar Bistro located at 335 Chapel Rd South, Bankstown.

 It operated for approximately 2 years from July 1975 until about mid-1977(?) 6 days a week (Mon-Sat) and featured live entertainment every night.

Initially trading from 11am – 10pm, patron demand quickly had the owners extending their license to midnight on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

 At its peak (75/76), Satchmo’s was literally packed to the rafters every Friday and Saturday night with the bar staff flat out trying to keep up with the supply of jugs of Cider or Spumante & Orange  to thirsty customers. Especially during the summer months when the air conditioning was so overwhelmed by the numbers, that streams of condensation continually ran down the walls!

 Although Satchmo’s was set up as a ‘smooth’ Jazz bar (hence the name) it soon began to diversify its entertainment offerings, when it was found that local mainstream music acts proved to be much bigger drawcards on the weekends. This included ‘Agnes Banks’ (a rock & roll band) who managed to secure an audition within a month of Satchmo’s opening and ended up becoming the venues ‘semi-resident’ band for most of the bars first year of existence, helping to turn it into one of the most popular venues in the area! (The feature shot is a promotional photo of band taken under the Satchmo signage in 1975. The band also held its single launch there) 

 There were many acts who also contributed to the success of Satchmo’s including regular DJs/Compares John Diffin & Neil Markwick who went under the pseudonym ‘The Pappy Show’ (and also broadcast on 2SWS).

43 Known Gigs for Satchmo’s Winebar Bistro

Date Band
Agnes Banks Thursday 14th August 1975 Agnes Banks

Initial Showcase audition

Agnes Banks Friday 5th September 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 12th September 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 19th September 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 26th September 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Tuesday 30th September 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 3rd October 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 18th October 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 24th October 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 25th October 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 31st October 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 7th November 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 14th November 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 21st November 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 22nd November 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 12th December 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 20th December 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Monday 22nd December 1975 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Wednesday 24th December 1975 Agnes Banks

Xmas Eve Party

Agnes Banks Friday 9th January 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 16th January 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 23rd January 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 24th January 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 31st January 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Saturday 7th February 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 27th February 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 19th March 1976 Agnes Banks
Agnes Banks Friday 26th March 1976 Agnes Banks
Wednesday 31st March 1976 Horizon
Thursday 1st April 1976 Big Swifty